100% HEAVY / 100% Free / 0% Spam

Sanzu reveal details of debut album

Share This:

Perth death metallers, Sanzu, have revealed they’ll be releasing their debut album, Heavy Over The Home on 3 December.

Following the release, the band will tour Australia.

Ever since the release of the ‘Painless’ EP we have been working around the clock writing, recording and preparing for the album,” commented vocalist Zachary Andrews.

“Our debut EP ‘Painless’ came from a place of spiritual and musical naivety. The title was chosen to almost make fun of ourselves for thinking “yeah this will be easy, piece of cake, painless!” when in fact, Sanzu almost didn’t make it through the production phase and it’s possible we wouldn’t still be here today. It wasn’t intentional but ‘Heavy Over the Home’ is significantly darker in theme and sound. Although we still very much have retained the Sanzu sound, this record feels like a different place entirely. This is a concept we hope to continue with each album if possible, exploring the different realms of music and art within the vessel of this band, without sacrificing what is loved in our sound.”

The album artwork for Heavy Over The Home was created by Andrews, who said the following about its concept:  “The artwork we chose is the antidote to the harmonic character of ‘Painless’ EP. Far more chaotic and violent in nature, the spirit has been disturbed and has taken it upon itself to tamper with the limits of reality. Now a more primal energy is tearing it’s way through matter in the midst of a cosmic tantrum, looking for answers. Finding itself dissatisfied and uncomfortable within any space. It brings unto the world all that which it brings unto itself.”

Track Listing

1. Old Orchard Floor
2. Phenomena
3. Ubiety
4. Tailor
5. Those Who Sleep In The East
6. Heavy Over The Home
7. Arrival
8. The Chill
9. Loss
10. Colorblind


Discover more like this on HEAVY:

Our Picks.

Get the HEAVY

Get the HEAVY Digi-Mag in-boxed weekly. 100% HEAVY / 0%SPAM.