Ghost: Infestissumam


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Ghost have danced with the devil throughout the duration of their short career, and now with the new album ‘Infestissumam’, latin for ‘hostile’ or ‘the biggest threat’, – they are celebrating in song and prose the birth of Lucifer’s son with an ‘occult-rock’ sound that is pure and sinister at the same time. ‘Infestissumam’ marks the arrival of the Antichrist and his worldly diabolical presence.

Thematically, there is nothing new in Ghost’s schtick but they do it with such conviction and purpose that oftentimes, one can’t see the tongue wedged firmly in (cloaked) cheek.

Once immersed in this album scenes of Hieronymus Bosch’s many paintings flood the mind. As if a soundtrack for all the sinful delights depicted in Bosch’s many paintings are now there before you. Swirling melodies permeate each and every track, with haunting keyboards and hooks that refuse to let go.

Majestic in its simplicity, nearly every song features memorable melodies that will wrap themselves into every possible sinew of your mind.

The retro overtones abound. The album sounds like it could have been recorded deep into the 1970’s and that is purely intentional. The musicianship is purposely restrained and that just adds to the feel throughout.

The early tracks that were released as teasers, ‘Secular Haze’ and ‘Year Zero’ are both fantastic songs on the album – but there are some incredible moments in other stand out tracks such as ‘Ghuleh/Zombie Queen’ – which starts off with a beautiful sombre melody before suddenly transforming itself into a surf-rock ditty again with a catchy hook and melody.

The final track on the album ‘Monstrance Clock’ stands as Ghost’s finest moment. Waltzing along with a hypnotic and chant-like beckoning for the coming of the Antichrist, the song breaks off into a final orchestral stanza that builds into a climatic conclusion that just leaves you wanting more.

Come Together
Together As One
Come Togegther
For Lucifer’s Son

‘Infestissumam’ Track Listing:

01. Infestissumam
02. Per Aspera Ad Inferi
03. Secular Haze
04. Jigolo Har Megiddo
05. Ghuleh / Zombie Queen
06. Year Zero
07. Idolatrine
08. Body And Blood
09. Depth Of Satans Eyes
10. Monstrance Clock

Bonus Tracks:

11: La Mantra Mori
12: I’m A Marrionette (w/ Dave Grohl on drums)


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Discover More.

Get he HEAVY Digi-Mag in-boxed weekly.

100% HEAVY / 0% SPAM

Get the HEAVY Digi-Mag in-boxed weekly. 100% HEAVY / 0%SPAM.

HEAVY Cinema Logo - Dark@1x

Like movies?