100% HEAVY / 100% Free / 0% Spam

[NEWS] MOGWAI Announce New Album

Share This:

Mogwai today announce their eagerly anticipated ninth studio album, Every Country’s Sun, due for release 1 September on Spunk Records/Caroline Australia in vinyl, CD and digital formats. The record is their first studio album since 2014’s Rave Tapes, and sees them reuniting with producer Dave Fridmann for the first time since 2001’s acclaimed ROCK ACTION LP; Fridmann also worked with the band on Come On Die Young (1999). It was recorded at Fridmann’s Tarbox Road Studios in Cassadaga, New York. The opening track from the record, Coolverine, is available to stream and download from today.

Every Country’s Sun takes two decades of Mogwai’s signature, contrasting sounds – towering intensity, pastoral introspection, synth-rock minimalism, DNA-detonating volume – and distills it, beautifully, into 56 concise minutes of gracious elegance, hymnal trance-rock, and transcenden- tal euphoria. It’s a structural soundscape built from stark foundations up; from a gentle, twinkling, synth-rock spectre to a solid, blown-out, skyward-thrusting obelisk. There’s percussive, dream-state electronics (Coolverine), church organs as chariots of existential fire (Brain Sweeties), tremulous, foreboding bleeping – possibly from a dying android (aka 47). Their most transportive album yet, it also hosts their most fully realised art-pop sing-along of their storied history, Party In The Dark, a head-spinning disco-dream double-helix echoing New Order and The Flaming Lips. This is music as a keep-out chrysalis, protective audio armour through exalting organs and portentous, dissonant guitar fuzz warping at the edges, bending the world inside-out into a reality in which you’d much rather live. The last three songs ascend into explosive exorcism, closing with the colossal title track, its searching intensity whooshing towards infinity in a dazzling cosmic crescendo.
Mogwai – Dominic Aitchison (bass), Stuart Braithwaite (guitar, vocals), Martin Bulloch (drums) and Barry Burns (keyboard, computer, guitar) – formed in Glasgow in 1995, and their output numbers eight studio albums, 13 EPs, two remix albums, two live albums and four compilation albums including 2015’s collection Central Belters. They’ve also contributed soundtracks to an impressive spectrum of cinematic releases (both full soundtracks and contributions): alongside Atomic (a Top 20 UK album in 2016), there’s been consistent acclaim for projects including French TV series Les Revenants (2013) and contributions to Leonardo DiCaprio’s climate change documentary Before The Flood (2016) alongside Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross.
The band have announced a major world tourMogwai’s only confirmed Australian show is at DARK MOFO (Hobart) on Saturday 10th June 2017, 7:30PM.
01   Coolverine
02   Party In The Dark
03   Brain Sweeties
04   Crossing The Road Material
05   aka 47
06   20 Size
07   1000 Foot Fence
08   Don’t Believe The Fife
09   Battered At A Scramble
10   Old Poisons
11   Every Country’s Sun

Discover more like this on HEAVY:

Our Picks.

Get the HEAVY

Get the HEAVY Digi-Mag in-boxed weekly. 100% HEAVY / 0%SPAM.