100% HEAVY / 100% Free / 0% Spam

[NEWS] Devin Townsend Releases Epic New Album Transcendence!

Share This:

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_cta h2=”WIN A FRAMUS GUITAR AND A SKYPE LESSON FROM DEVIN EXCLUSIVE TO AUSTRALIA ” h4=”HERE’S HOW” txt_align=”center” color=”black” add_icon=”left” i_icon_fontawesome=”fa fa-bomb” i_background_style=”rounded” i_size=”xl” i_on_border=”true”]DON’T MISS OUT ON YOUR CHANCE TO WIN A FRAMUS GUITAR AND A SKYPE LESSON FROM DEVIN EXCLUSIVE TO AUSTRALIA ONLY AT JBHIFI.COM.AU ENTRIES CLOSE SEPTEMBER 15[/vc_cta][vc_column_text]


“Transcendence thrills, inspires and dazzles on every level – a modern-day masterpiece.” – Metal Hammer (9/10)

“The album is epic.” – Metal As Fuck

“Devin Townsend can do no wrong. He has nary put a step wrong in well over 20 years, since he stepped up to the mic aged 21 for Steve Vai on his cult classic Sex and Religion album, andTranscendence is yet another high quality step in the musical journey of a million miles that this man is on.” – Heavy Magazine

“…the album is an exception example of progressive symphonic metal, and is definitely some of Devin Townsend’s best work.” – I Probably Hate Your Band (9/10)

“I have no hesitation in saying this is the best album released under the Devin Townsend Project moniker.” – Amnplify


Exclusive to Australia, the wonderful people at Framus & Warwick have made an awesome acoustic guitar available worth $2,900 AUD and you now have a chance to win it along with a Skype lesson by Devin Townsend. Check out the video below where Dev explains to you how…

Purchase one of the three album formats available at JB Hi-Fi to enter in the competition.
You have until Thursday 15 September 11:59pm, so what are you waiting for?

They also recently launched a documentary series following the making of the new album.

Shot by videographer and good friend of the band Mike ‘ZimZim’ Zimmer between March and April, 2016 during the Transcendence album recordings, this episode is the first part out of seven parts in total. In this episode Devin explains a bit about the album’s recording process and you’ll get a glimpse of how the band writes music together.

You can watch the second and latest episode here:

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUW67u0bf6M]


Listen to the track Secret Sciences now here:


[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wy7uQ4evb8g]


Listen to Failure here:

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPjHUFe4AKk&w=560&h=315]


Transcendence, the follow-up to 2014’s Z2 double-album (half of which was made up of the DTP full-length Sky Blue), sees the award-winning Townsend exploring a relatively new way of working, collaborating with the entire DTP band during the writing stages of the record.  “The result of this process is a record that I truly think the intention of is special” he says of the album. “I ‘found’ gas to put into the tank and am glad I did. I think the intention, the theme, and the participation of everyone involved allows this album to act like a fulcrum between the past few years and what I intend to do next with the symphony. I am very proud of it and everyone involved.”

The artwork was once again created by Anthony Clarkson, who Devin has been working with for several years now. Townsend comments of the cover: “He presented me the main image of the girl as a painted version, and I was intrigued and asked him to redo it with a girl he knew with photos. I liked the idea that it seemed like a mash-up of religious and spiritual imagery, in a sense, representing the idea (to me) that these types of connections to the infinite are often more like identities we can cling to rather than what lies behind. In a sense, the character on the front almost seems like the ideologies she’s representing are more ‘brand names’ than anything else.”

The last 2 years since the release of Z2 have seen Devin busier and more ambitious than ever, culminating last November in the release of Ziltoid Live At The Royal Albert Hall, a brilliant document of their sold-out show at the famous London venue, that saw them bring the Ziltoid story to life on stage in his most impressive production yet.


CD 1
01. Truth
02. Stormbending
03. Failure
04. Secret Sciences
05. Higher
06. Stars
07. Transcendence
08. Offer Your Light
09. From The Heart
10. Transdermal Celebration

CD 2
01. Gump
02. Celestial Signals
03. Support The Cause
04. Into The Sun
05. Time Overload
06. Lexus
07. Farther On
08. Victim
09. MonkeyMind
10. Canucklehead
11. Loud


Discover more like this on HEAVY:

Our Picks.

Get the HEAVY

Get the HEAVY Digi-Mag in-boxed weekly. 100% HEAVY / 0%SPAM.