Share This:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Melodic Death Metal Newcomers EMPYREAL SORROW To Release PRÆY

German melodic death metallers Empyreal Sorrow are releasing their debut album PRÆY on November 20.

It is so easy to feel caged in a bug-like life and to choke on the daily overdose of the feces from the overly present (social) media when you are constantly fed with anger, hate, and delusion. Empyreal Sorrow are taking this obvious misconception of our existence and creating their own oppositional counterpart with the idea of the Cult Of Sorrow by incorporating the picture of the human swarm and showing off the perversity of today’s life with an insectoid cultist image. The cover artwork of PRÆY shows this approach with its perverted adaption of the Vitruvian Man drawing by Leonardo Da Vinci – the destruction of the ideal of the perfect human being.

Every track on PRÆY covers the one thing that unites mankind the most – devastation. Be it personal devastation through depression or drugs or devastation through senseless wars or blind belief in misleading god-figures. The band took a lot of effort and time to find the right balance between the lyrical and musical content.

Inspired by the great Swedish death metal tradition of bands like Edge Of Sanity, At The Gates, Dark Tranquillity or In Flames, Empyreal Sorrow also impersonates a touch of a black metal feeling within its melodies, vocals and riffing. The foundation is death metal, but there is no rule to what it takes for an Empyreal Sorrow song to be unique. This simple strategy also led to the implementation of two vocalists – with Martin Szeike providing the guttural, deep grunts and Sebastian Moser slamming out his more black metal-like screams.

Watch ‘Quiet Depression’ teaser here

Discover More on HEAVY.

Our Picks.

Get the HEAVY

Get the HEAVY Digi-Mag in-boxed weekly. 100% HEAVY / 0%SPAM.