100% HEAVY / 100% Free / 0% Spam

In Hearts Wake announces surprise new album

Share This:

In Hearts Wake have announced a surprise follow-up album to 2014’s ‘Earthwalker’. ‘Skydancer’ will be released on 1 May through UNFD.

‘Skydancer’ is the second half of an ambitious project that has been planned in secret well before the release of award-winning breakthrough album ‘Earthwalker’.  Skydancer will be released 364 days after its predecessor. Both albums were recorded in the same session as 2013 drew to a close and share a multitude of themes across their artwork, lyrics and charitable intentions.

The ‘Earthwalker’ CD contained a hidden booklet with a short poem referring to the masculine and feminine worlds and the lyrics to first single ‘Breakaway’. But until very recently, no fans were aware of the secret clue.

“I’d been searching for a concept that could explain the relationship between the masculine and feminine worlds and how we needed to be at peace with both in order to be whole,” says frontman Jake Taylor, who also wrote and produced the video for ‘Breakaway’. “Many indigenous cultures believed that the human body was a bridge between Mother Earth and Father Sky. One could not exist without the other, and therefore everything was one. To me, the essence of these two divine energies could be seen even within my own parents, and I felt like I was the product of both.”

The album features a new version of the former single, ‘Skydancer’. The single features Johnathan Vigil of The Ghost Inside as well as guest appearances from Marcus Bridge of Northlane and J Hurley and Ben Marvin of Hacktivist.

‘Skydancer’ will also see In Hearts Wake working in conjunction with Local Futures – a non-profit organisation lead by Helena Norberg-Hodge; pioneer of the localisation movement and director of of the award-winning documentary, The Economics of Happiness. The organisation is dedicated to the protection and renewal of ecological and social well being at a local, tangible level.

The first single, ‘Breakaway’ is released today.

Track listing

In Hearts WakeSkydancer
1. Aether
2. Skydancer (feat. Jonathan Vigil)
3. Breakaway
4. Badlands
5. Insomnia
6. Oblivion
7. Wildfire
8. Cottonmouth
9. Erase (feat. Ben Marvin & J Hurley)
10. Intrepid (feat. Marcus Bridge)
11. Father


Click here to watch the documentary.

Discover more like this on HEAVY:

Our Picks.

Get the HEAVY

Get the HEAVY Digi-Mag in-boxed weekly. 100% HEAVY / 0%SPAM.