100% HEAVY / 100% Free / 0% Spam

GHOST Release New Track

Share This:

Taking the world by surprise with its debut during the opening night of GHOST’s first ever feature film RITE HERE RITE NOW, the never-before-heard The Future is a Foreign Land is cause for celebration amongst the millions of fans of GHOST’s legendary 1969 era. Long thought lost to the sands of time, “Future…” is the third song from the GRAMMY-winning Swedish theatrical rock icons’ timeless 1969 sessions featuring Papa Nihil fronting an early incarnation of the band — the same lineup that blessed us with the now-classic Seven Inches of Satanic Panic single. That single’s pair of GHOST swinging sixties staples — Kiss the Go-Goat and the RIAA-certified platinum Tik Tok phenomenon and Billboard Hot 100 breakthrough Mary on a Cross — has become an unholy trinity with the unearthing of The Future is a Foreign Land. While its wicked twangy guitar figures and portentous lyrics of an impending 1984 render the song instantly recognizable as an artifact of the era, “Future…” is suffused with presciently modern signatures of the contemporary GHOST sound. Ending with an optimistic nod to 2024, “Future…” was revealed to the children of the world during the end credits of RITE HERE RITE NOW’s world premiere, and is the sole previously unreleased studio track to be included on the movie’s original soundtrack.

The track list titles for RITE HERE RITE NOW: The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack are as follows:

01. Imperium
02. Kaisarion
03. Rats
04. Faith
05. Spillways
06. Cirice
07. Absolution
08. Call Me Little Sunshine
09. Watcher In The Sky
10. If You Have Ghosts (Chamber Version)
11. Twenties
12. Miasma
13. Mary On A Cross
14. Respite On The Spitalfields
15. Kiss The Go-Goat
16. Dance Macabre
17. Square Hammer
18. The Future Is A Foreign Land*

*All songs recorded live from the Kia Forum except “Future is a Foreign Land”

RITE HERE RITE NOW’s theatrical run opened June 20 via Trafalgar Releasing, its unique phantasmagorical blend of mesmerizing live performance and intriguing narrative having haunted nearly 2000 cinemas across nearly 50 countries. RITE HERE RITE NOW: The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will be released worldwide on July 26 via Loma Vista Recordings. A fitting 18-song complement to the feature film, the band’s first ever original soundtrack will be available on all formats (digital, CD, 2xLP). Pre-orders are live now here, and include The Future is a Foreign Land as well as a live version of Absolution, captured at the now-legendary sold-out two-night stand at the Forum where the concert footage featured in the film was shot.

Whether you’re a devoted disciple looking to relive treasured memories of the GHOST live spectacle or among the curious uninitiated, RITE HERE RITE NOW and its companion soundtrack will put you right there: putting your phones down and living in the moment—as a shadow of uncertainty looms—completely spellbound and in the thrall of this bombastic yet intimate cinematic portrait of GHOST.

RITE HERE RITE NOW is directed by Tobias Forge of GHOST and Alex Ross Perry, and is produced by Popecorn Cinematic Pictures. Producers include Kristen Mulderig, Rick Sales, Craig Butta and Jonas Åkerlund. RITE HERE RITE NOW is directed by Tobias Forge of GHOST and Alex Ross Perry, and is produced by Popecorn Cinematic Pictures. Producers include Kristen Mulderig, Rick Sales, Craig Butta and Jonas Åkerlund. The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack was mixed by Rich Costey.


Discover more like this on HEAVY:

Our Picks.

Get the HEAVY

Get the HEAVY Digi-Mag in-boxed weekly. 100% HEAVY / 0%SPAM.